Our Lord in the Attic
Museum Our Lord in the Attic (previously called Museum Amstelkring) is one of the most cherished museums in Amsterdam with a special atmosphere that surprises every visitor. The attic of this bourgeois house conceals a secret Catholic church, known as Ons' Lieve Heer op Solder (Our Dear Lord in the Attic), originally built in 1663, when Catholics lost their right to workship in their own way. Among other artefacts the museum house contains heavy Dutch furniture, tableclocks and two kitchens with Delft tiles.
The lower floors of the building became a museum in 1888 and today contain refurbished rooms, as well as a collection of church silver, various religious artifacts and paintings.
A presentation of Treasures from the Cesspit features a selection of items found in 2013 while work proceeded on the foundations. A cesspit is a hole in the ground where people deposit waste and refuse. The finds recovered from this pit date roughly from the years 1650 to 1800. Among the unique pieces retrieved are Delftware pottery, glass and Chinese porcelain shipped to Amsterdam by the Dutch East India Company (VOC ). Part of the museum extension project involves the renovation of the foundations of the three museum houses: the main building on the corner and the two behind it. When excavation work began in 2013, Amsterdam?s Historical Buildings and Archaeology department (BMA) investigated the terrain and found the cesspit with its horde of food remains and ceramic and glass objects. The finds provide a tangible impression of the everyday life of the people who used the house and lived here in the eighteenth century. In the old kitchen of the house in the alley the old toilet can still be seen - the privy as it was called - which was directly connected to the cesspit. An animation film shows how a cesspit functions. Check it out below.
In 2012 the church was entirely refurbished. While until recently, cupboards were converted into showcases to display art, now the process is reversed: the showcases have been removed and the cupboards are once again cupboards. The idea was to restore the church’s original function and this was the guideline for the restoration. Visitors can now experience the building as it was when it served as a parish church. Colour, light and interior exude the atmosphere of the period in which the last regular masses were celebrated at the church, in the late 19th century.
The audio guide is included in the entrance fee. This tour is available in Dutch, English, French, German, Spanish, Italian and Russian language.
Dates & Times
Museum Ons’ Lieve Heer op Solder is open every day:
- Monday through Saturday from 10.00 till 17.00.
- Sunday and holidays from 13.00 till 17.00
The museum is closed on April 27 (King's Day). On January 1st the museum is open from 13.00 till 17.00.
Print at Home
Unless stipulated in the booking process all bookings require customers to print their voucher off in order to be exchanged for entry to the attraction or tour. We cannot guarantee entry without a printed voucher and will not be able to cancel or refund customers who do not print the vouchers and therefore can't gain access to the venue or tour.
If you cannot print your voucher off for any reason please contact us before arriving at the venue.
Please note that all vouchers and tickets sold by 365 Tickets Limited are non-refundable due to restrictions imposed by our individual suppliers, for full terms and conditions please click here.
To request an amendment to your booking please contact 365Tickets for support.
Amendments to the date, the time and/or the number of tickets are permitted at the discretion of 365 Tickets Limited as they are subject to the terms and conditions of our individual suppliers and surcharges for amendments made may apply.